Showing posts with label Did you know?. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Did you know?. Show all posts

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

S6 - The fat lady has sung!

It's over and it wasn't pretty! More details later this week as I write up an AAR. Mr. Kastel schooled me and the dice did not feel like disputing it. Regardless, another fun game of ASLSK with another great competitor. I'm a bit rusty on the rules for the long layoff and I relearned a lot of stuff.

Here's another gem:

Self-rallies are 3.1e and proceed before Unit rallies (leader-led) which are 3.1f. A nice subtle difference but something to keep in mind if you're playing competitively.

Overall I'd say that S6 - Released from the East is another good, solid scenario from ASLSK1.

Sunday, January 31, 2010

SK VASLeague 2010 - Round One GO!

Just wrapped up a great first session (first two turns) with Mr. Larry Kastel in our SK VASLeague Round 1 matchup. There be German SS roaming about here. It's turning out to be quite the bloodbath all around.

As always, I'm learning something new in this game. First, SK3 level errata has been added somewhere along the line that states:

SK3 3.3: "Units enter from off board - either at the start of a scenario or as reinforcements - as directed by the scenario card, including turn and location of entry. Units are set up offboard along the specified edge(s) of the map at the start of their RPh in the player turn of entry.They may not perform any action while offboard except move during the MPh per normal Open Ground movement costs. They must enterduring the MPh or APh of their turn of entry or be eliminated. Roads are considered to extend off board for purposes of road bonus."
Soooooo... basically I and my opponents have being doing this all wrong for a year (ha!). Reinforcements must basically set-up in "virtual hexes" just offboard before entering during the MPh or APh. There you go, more stuff you didn't know...

Sunday, May 10, 2009

Did you know...? #2

Hmmmmm... Did you know... ... about Random Selection?

Now, this is a funny thing in ASLSK and (I think) full ASL. Frequently you'll get a situation where more than one thing or squad or SW or whatever is supposed to take a certain result. Example: A K/# result on the IFT when there is a stack of units. The SK-level rulebook says to "randomly" determine this.

But what mechanism do you use?

Most probably just pull out a die and assign the potential victims a number and dr. Note that this means only ONE victim takes the result.

The neat thing is that in full ASL random selection actually has an associated mechanism that allows more than one victim. Random Selection forces all potential targets to dr and all targets that roll the highest (including ties) suffer the result. So, a series of rolls like 1, 2, 3, 4, 4, would cause the latter two units to suffer the K or whatever.

For some reason, this rule was pulled from ASLSK. Too bloody? Too little space to include? Who knows. But if you're not opposed to it, in a friendly game you may want to spice things up with this minor amendment to the rules.

Monday, April 20, 2009

Did you know...?

Hmmmmm... Did you know... ... the Rally Phase?

Some stuff about the Rally Phase (RPh) that are frequently done incorrectly:

1. Both players are active during the Rally Phase, not just the ATTACKER. I remember my first playthrough I thought that the RPh was active player only. Yes, noobs, that means that everyone gets to rally that's stacked with a Good Order leader!

2. All self-rally attempts get a +1 DRM. That's just self-rallying leaders right? Wrong! The ATTACKER may attempt to self-rally one additional MMC without the boxed morale who is not stacked with a leader. The key is additional -- you can't try the same unit twice! (In fact, no unit may attempt to rally more than once a RPh.)

3. All rally attempts may receive a TEM of -1 if done in woods or buildings. It's apparently safer in these sorts of terrain.

4. Leaders may not use their leadership modifier on themselves to self-rally! They are good, but not that good.

5. The +4 DRM for Desperation Morale only applies to Rally Attempts, NOT Morale Checks! Sometimes players like to add that +4 when doing MCs from the IFT. Don't!

6. Don't forget that a natural boxcar on a Rally Attempt (DR of 12) means Casualty Reduction! Your men just went to pieces trying to get it together. Roll low!



I've been meaning to piece a few of these "nuggets" of learning together from the crappy notes I take when playing. Hope they help (and I hope I didn't screw them up!).